Events

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Cyrano

Cyrano is skilled in both sword and pen but his enormous nose leaves him a swashbuckling lonely heart. Despite his devotion to Roxane—or because of it—Cyrano guides a handsome rival to win her love. From the balcony scene to the battlefield to the convent, the spiritual triumphs over the corporeal and Cyrano, like Don Quixote and Don Juan, lives among the world’s enduring literary figures. This composition is the masterwork of Michigan Opera Theatre Founder and Artistic Director David DiChiera.

Music by David DiChiera
Libretto by Bernard Uzan, after Edmond Rostand’s play, Cyrano de Bergerac
Premiered in Detroit, 2007

Sung in French with projected English translations

May 13, 17, 20, 21
7:30pm

Photo Credit Facebook

May 13 2017

Details

Start: Saturday, May 13, 2017
7:30 am
End: Sunday, May 21, 2017
10:30 pm
Website: Visit Event Website
Event Tags:, , , ,
Cost: $29 - $152

Venue

Detroit Opera House

1526 Broadway
Detroit, MI 48226 United States

+ Google Map

Phone:

313.872.1000

Visit Venue Website

All Events

Upcoming Events

08 February 2018

Dauphin Island by Jeffry Chastang

Detroit Repertory Theatre
Thursday, February 8 - Saturday, March 17
09 February 2018

2018 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films

Detroit Film Theatre
Friday, February 9 - Sunday, March 4
15 February 2018

Marie and Rosetta

Max M Fisher Music Center
Thursday, February 15 - Sunday, March 11
16 February 2018

Detroit Restaurant Week

Downtown Detroit
Friday, February 16 - Sunday, February 25
16 February 2018

Shen Yun Performing Arts

Detroit Opera House
Friday, February 16 - Sunday, February 25
17 February 2018

Detroit Boat Show

Cobo Center
Saturday, February 17 - Wednesday, February 28