Events

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Hockey: The Musical

Hockey – The Musical! a show Mitch Albom laughingly describes as “Spamalot – with hockey sticks” returns to the City Theatre Thursday, July 13 through Sunday, August 6.

The concept is sure to draw theater fans and sports fans alike: When the Lord decides the world has too many sports, He decides to wipe out one – hockey – to teach mankind a lesson. Only five mismatched fans can try and save their beloved game in this hysterical, raucous, foot-tapping musical with book, original music and lyrics by Mitch Albom.

The musical, which takes place in a mythical hockey rink and combines original compositions with popular classics, will be directed by Peter Albom and choreographed by Gabe Nesser. Several of the original songs include “Put On Skates,” “Kill Baseball,” “Oh, Octopus, My Octopus,” “God is a Canuck” and “When You’re A Wing.” Familiar melodies will include everything from 50’s and 60’s rock and roll to “Toot, Toot, Tootsie Goodbye.”

See event link for specific showtimes
Tickets on sale soon

Photo Credit Facebook

July 13 2017

Details

Start: Thursday, July 13, 2017
7:30 pm
End: Sunday, August 6, 2017
7:30 pm
Website: Visit Event Website
Event Tags:, , , ,

Venue

City Theatre

2301 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48201 United States

+ Google Map

Phone:

313.471.3465

Visit Venue Website

All Events

Upcoming Events

08 February 2018

Dauphin Island by Jeffry Chastang

Detroit Repertory Theatre
Thursday, February 8 - Saturday, March 17
09 February 2018

2018 Academy Award® Nominated Short Films

Detroit Film Theatre
Friday, February 9 - Sunday, March 4
15 February 2018

Marie and Rosetta

Max M Fisher Music Center
Thursday, February 15 - Sunday, March 11
16 February 2018

Detroit Restaurant Week

Downtown Detroit
Friday, February 16 - Sunday, February 25
16 February 2018

Shen Yun Performing Arts

Detroit Opera House
Friday, February 16 - Sunday, February 25
17 February 2018

Detroit Boat Show

Cobo Center
Saturday, February 17 - Wednesday, February 28